Bishop Bobby R. Best

Bishop Bobby Best, presiding prelate of the Ninth Episcopal District of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church, recently announced the pastoral appointments for the Southern California Region (SCR).

The assignments were revealed on July 22 at the close of the historic combined annual conference session of the district’s five regions.   The joint session was held in Phoenix, Arizona, in conjunction with the Christian Leadership Training School.

For the Los Angeles District, the Rev. Mark A. Hardin was named presiding elder and pastor of Hays Tabernacle. Other appointments were the Rev. Joseph C. Gardner, Sr. – Curry Temple, the Rev. John Deron Johnson – Calvary, the Rev. Dr. Darryl J. Wesley – Amos Temple, the Rev. Jacqueline May – Phillips Chapel, the Rev. Thomas Benjamin – Greater Phillips Chapel, the Rev. Dr. Gloria Marshall – Christ Temple, the Rev. Durrell Durley – Brown Temple, the Rev. William Carter – Lewis Chapel, and the Rev. Michael Wade – St. Paul. The Rev. Charles A. Reed, Sr. was assigned as a special plant to the Santa Barbara Worship Center.

The Rev. Travis A. Morris was appointed presiding elder of the Los Angeles/San Diego District and pastor of Lewis Metropolitan. Other assignments were the Rev. Bernard M. Jackson – Phillips Temple L.A., the Rev. Terry Tapley – Amos Memorial, the Rev. Dr. James E. Markham – Emmanuel Temple, the Rev. Joaquin Barnes – Phillips Temple San Diego, the Rev. Adam Stevenson – Warren Chapel, the Rev. James Tillman – Bethel, the Rev. E. Earl Hamer – New Vision, the Rev. Brian Reese – First CME Williamson Temple, the Rev. Emma Burrus – Grace Community, the Rev. Karen Bradford – Word of Faith, the Rev. Isaac Middleton – Edwards Chapel, the Rev. Stephania Batiste-Caldwell – Praise Tabernacle and the Rev. Dr. Sharon LaFleur Prince – Prince of Peace. The Rev. Ralph A. Young received a special assignment.

(Richard E. Lee contributed to this article.)