OASC Honors Artist Mark Steven Greenfield at Historic Pico House

In keeping with a new tradition that began last year, Our Authors Study Club bestowed visual artist Mark Steven Greenfield with its first Trailblazer Award. This year’s reception was held on Feb. 15, at the historic Pico House in downtown Los Angeles.

OASC Celebrates Audacity To Hope Day with New Members Reception

Our Authors Study Club, Inc. (OASC) will observe the 2023 National “Audacity To Hope Day” with a special reception to welcome new members on Sunday, June 4, at 2 p.m.  The event will take place at the newly opened Hidden History Museum, located at 2131 W. Jefferson Blvd in the Jefferson Park neighborhood of Los Angeles.

OASC Launches “Preserving Our Future Past” Membership Campaign 

Clockwise from top left are Lura Daniels-Ball, president; Prof. Toni Humber, vice president; Haiba Franklin, secretary; Paqueta Davis, treasurer; Ernestine Gordon; Maude Johnson, events; Commissioner Mike Davis, AAFM chair and Theresa Curtis, membership chair. (Courtesy photo) 

OASC, Sigma Gamma Rho Hold Oratorical Contest

Our Authors Study Club, Inc. of Los Angeles (OASC) and Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., Sigma Sigma Alumnae Chapter, are seeking young people to participate in the 2022 Annual Oratorical Contest.  

Lura Daniels-Ball Elected President of Historic Our Authors Study Club, INC.

Los Angeles, CA (January 23, 2022) —The Our Authors Study Club, Inc of Los Angeles announced the election of the officers. Led by Lura Daniels-Ball, they will serve as the organization’s president for 2022. The full slate of officers includes Dr. Toni-Mokjaetji Humber as Vice President,  Haiba Payton-Franklin as Secretary, Paqueta Davis as Treasurer, and Ernestine Gordon as Historian. In December, the officers were sworn into their respective positions in a virtual program by Mike Davis, Los Angeles Commissioner of Public Works. Daniels-Ball is no stranger to the organization. She has been an avid supporter for more than 35 years.