Friday, May 20, 2022
Our Authors Study Club Celebrates 74 Years of African American History with Black Migrations
By Sentinel News Service
Published March 28, 2019

Ernestine Gordon, President, OASC, Helena Williams, J.U.G.S., Inc., Jackie Hill, J.U.G.S., Inc. Sandra Evers-Manly, President, Northrup-Grumman Foundation, William Allen Young, Actor & President of Young Center Foundation

The Los Angeles Branch of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History, Inc., better known in Los Angeles as Our Authors Study Club, Inc. (OASC), recently celebrated 74 years of African American History on Saturday, March 16, at the Museum of African American Art.

This year’s theme was: “Black Migrations” commemorating 400 years of perserverance. The theme emphasized the movement of people of African descent to new destinations and subsequently to new social realities. In 1916, at least 20 Africans were brought to the colony of Virginia. Leaving their homeland, culture and language to be used as the working force to build the economy of this nation.

Scholars: Ciara Grant, Royalle Stewart, Kyra Moore and Dynesha Lucas, Jared Bayliss (not shown)

Millions of enslaved Africans were to follow. The theme emphasized the movement of people of African descent to new destinations and subsequently to new social realities.

Among the honorees were J.U.G.S., the Cox Family Legacy, St. Elmo Village, the Honorable John Vernon Meigs and Pamela Bakewell, COO of the Bakewell Company. The 2019 OASC Scholarship recipients included Jared Bayliss, Ciara Grant, Dynesha Lucas, Kyra Moore and Royalle Adai Stewart.

Ernestine Gordon, President, OASC, Inc., Amira Elswify, Pamela A. Bakewell, executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Bakewell Company, Brandon I. Brooks, managing editor L.A. Sentinel, William Allen Young, actor & president of Young Center Foundation

The event featured musical entertainment from Seville who brought the nostalgia of Motown. Brunch included a variety of tasty cuisine. The packed room was full of community stakeholders and organization members.


Other highlights included the new forever stamp honoring Dancer/Actor Gregory Hines.

The event co-chairs were Maude Johnson and Dr. Toni-Mokjaetjki Humbler. The President of the organization is Ernestine J. Gordon.

Seville Entertainment – Philemon Young, Jr., Larry Tate, Michael Martin, Sr., Johnnie Morisette and Norm Weatherly

Our Authors Study Club was founded on February 14, 1945, by Mrs. Vassie D. Wright and a group of Terminal Annex Postal Employees for the purpose of studying the biographies of African American authors, reviewing their books and learning the true history of African people in the Diaspora.

Categories: Crenshaw & Around | Family | Lifestyle | Local | News | News (Family)
Tags: | | | | | | | | | | | |

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!

Since 1933 The Voice of Our Community Speaking for Itself.
89 Years of LA Sentinel.
Black News.

LA Sentinel
in your pocket:


LA Watts Times

© 2022 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

AboutArchivesContact UsCorrections & MisprintsMedia Kit

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »