Cicely Tyson

Friends, Advocates, Leaders and Loved Ones We Lost in 2021

Hank Aaron Virgil Abloh Michelle Avan Jacqueline Avant Dr. Gwen Ball Elgin Baylor Lillian Benbow Jackson Ronald Edward Bishop Melvin (Coach Mel) Bright Dr. James V. Brown John Chamey Rev. Dr. Ollie Collins, Jr. Sam “Bam” Cunningham Gregory Anthony Daniel Jr. Hon. Saundra Davis Linda Dent (721 President) Earl “DMX”Simmons Lottie Douglas Suzanne Douglas Rev. Dr. Solomon Drake Lee Elder Emily Fennell Delores Hickambottom Marcia Hogan Charlotte Ann Jackson-Walton Evette Lawson Biz Markie Frank McRae Rep. Carrie Meeks (Ret.) Jovita Moore Rev. Reginald Moore Hon. Willard Murray Dove Savage Pinkney Colin Powell Apostle Frederick Price Charlie Robinson Ernest Roberts Roshawn

IN MEMORIAM: Iconic Actor Clarence Williams III Dead at 81

His role as “Linc” on “The Mod Squad” in the 1970s, catapulted Williams into the mainstream. But some of his best work came on the big screen, particularly as Prince’s father in the 1984 hit, “Purple Rain,” and nine years later in the Wesley Snipes drama, “Sugar Hill.”

Rep. Waters Applauds Tyler Perry for Historic Grand Opening of Tyler Perry Studios

Congresswoman Maxine Waters (CA-43) wrote a letter of commendation to Tyler Perry – the first African American to own a major movie studio – following the grand opening of the Tyler Perry Studios, which Congresswoman Waters attended in Atlanta. The 330-acre major motion picture studio is “one of the largest production facilities in the country” and includes “40 buildings on the National Register of Historic Places, 12 sound stages, 200 acres of greenspace, and a diverse backlot.” Her letter follows:

Actress Cicely Tyson to Receive Honorary Oscar

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Actress Cicely Tyson, composer Lalo Schifrin and publicist Martin Levy will be getting honorary Oscar statuettes this fall at the film academy’s Governors Awards, while producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall will receive the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the honorees Wednesday after a Tuesday night vote by its board of governors. “Choosing the honorees for its awards each year is the happiest of all the Board of Governors’ work,” academy president John Bailey said in a statement. “And this year, its selection of five iconic artists