Mayor Karen Bass and Laura Richardson (Courtesy photo)

Los Angeles Mayor Karen Bass has endorsed Laura Richardson for the California State Senate, 35th District seat.

“As a former Assemblywoman, Speaker of the Ca. Assembly, Member of Congress, and now Mayor of Los Angeles, I strongly endorse my former colleague, Laura Richardson, for 35th State Senate who has worked capably with me, side by side, to improve the lives of residents we represent,” said the mayor.

“Laura Richardson has a proven record of bold leadership that will help strengthen the economy, protect good paying jobs, improve safety in our neighborhoods and partner to provide housing and treatment for the unhoused, so that all families might rise and thrive.”

In response to the endorsement, Richardson said, “I am honored to partner with Mayor Karen Bass again, having served together both in the State Assembly and Congress. Mayor Bass knows as she tackles needs of the unhoused, aging infrastructure and reduced budgets, I have a record of working together to deliver funding, programs and resources to the people and communities we share.

“Both Mayor Bass and I were raised in Los Angeles, where we have committed to work hard towards improve and increase the services and programs so that all residents may not only survive… but thrive.”

“City of Los Angeles Mayor Karen Bass endorsement validates Laura Richardson’s record of hard work, commitment to the community, and best capable to do the State Senators job, solidifying Laura Richardson as the right vote on March 5,” stated Campaign spokesman Mike Trujillo”

Richardson was born in Los Angeles to bi-racial parents and is a longtime resident of San Pedro. She graduated with a bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) and earned her MBA from the University of Southern California’s (USC) Marshall School of Business.

Senate District 35 includes the Los Angeles County communities of Carson, Compton, Gardena, Harbor Gateway, Hawthorne, Inglewood, Lawndale, San Pedro, Westchester, Wilmington, Westchester, and unincorporated communities of East and West Rancho Dominguez, Lennox, West Athens, Westmont, and Willowbrook.