Former college football player and wrestler who has turned himself into a leading actor in Hollywood is Dwayne Johnson. Johnson is one of the biggest money earners in the world.
And the beat continues!

Actor Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson will receive The People’s Champion award at the People’s Choice Awards on Dec. 7, NBC and E! announced today.  The “Baywatch,” “Jumanji” and “San Andreas” star is a 15-time People’s Choice Awards nominee and two-time winner.

The People’s Champion Award will recognize Johnson for his “entrepreneurial endeavors and unwavering commitment to supporting children and families in need through multiple philanthropic partnerships,” the networks said in a Monday announcement.

“Dwayne is one of the most beloved actors of our time who has achieved unprecedented success throughout his career,” said Jen Neal, an executive vice president at NBCUniversal Entertainment Television and Streaming.

“During a period where there has been a lot of uncertainty, Johnson has displayed an uncanny ability to raise spirits and make people smile despite circumstances. His philanthropic efforts and international social media presence has made him a cultural leader and inspiration to many, making him the perfect recipient for `The People’s Champion’ award this year.”

Among other endeavors, Johnson serves as a National Celebrity Wish Ambassador for The Make-A-Wish Foundation and is active with The Starlight Children’s Foundation, which serves the needs of over 60 million critically, chronically and terminally ill children around the world.

Oscar-winning actress Halle Berry will receive the People’s Icon Award at the Dec. 7 ceremonies for her contributions in film and television, including being the first Black best actress Oscar winner. “Saturday Night Live” veteran actor and entertainer Kenan Thompson will host the show, which will air on both NBC and E! at 9 p.m. on Dec. 7 from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica Dec. 7.

Voting in 40 categories for music, movies, television and pop culture closed on Nov. 17.  For the full list of all nominees, visit of-nominee.