Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Jenesse Center Legal Services Department Celebrates 14 Years of Service
By Sentinel News Service [email protected]
Published August 1, 2013

(Left to right) Karen Earl, Jenesse CEO, Charlene L. Usher, Esq., Black Women Lawyers of Los Angeles Board Member, Tami L. Warren, Esq., President Elect of Black Women Lawyers of Los Angeles, Don Stephenson, Legal Services Coordinator – Jenesse Center Domestic Violence Clinic and Ethelle Moody. (Photo by Robert Johnson)                  

First Annual Champions of Justice Ceremony and Legal Services Open House


Jenesse Center, a domestic violence intervention and prevention organization celebrated 14 years of bringing legal services to the community with its first annual Champions of Justice Ceremony and Legal Services Open House at the Inglewood Courthouse on Friday, July 19. The organization presented the Champions of Justice Award to community leaders who distinguished themselves as catalysts in Jenesse’s ability to perform quality legal services for families in crises.  

Honorees included The Honorable Yvonne Brathwaite Burke, Former Member of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors Second District, The Honorable Patricia J. Titus Judge Los Angeles Superior Court and Judge Mablean Ephriam, CEO and Founder Judge Mablean Ephriam Foundation. The honorees were presented with Jenesse children’s artwork as a tribute to the lives they have changed and saved. 

Speakers and guests included The Honorable John V. Meigs, presiding judge Inglewood Courthouse Los Angeles Superior Court, Bobbiejean Anderson, Jenesse Center Inc. board member, Nancy A. Bertrando, Esq. Partner Greenberg Glusker Fields Claman & Machtinger LLP and many others.

Elected officials on the honorary committee include: The Honorable Karen R. Bass, The Honorable Steven Bradford, The Honorable Isadore Hall, The Honorable Reggie Jones-Sawyer, The Honorable Holly J. Mitchell, The Honorable Bernard C. Parks, The Honorable Curren D. Price, The Honorable Mark Ridley-Thomas, The Honorable Herb J. Wesson, Jr. and The Honorable Roderick D. Wright.

Karen Earl, Jenesse CEO said, “Jenesse Center, Inc. would like to extend special thanks and appreciation to Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, Ballard Spahr Stillman & Freidman, Greenberg Glusker Fields Claman & Machtinger, Morgan, Lewis & Bockius, O’Melveny & Meyers, our honorees and all the Champions of Justice in our network who have been in the trenches with us for 14 years bringing legal defense and protection to families threatened by domestic violence.




Categories: Local

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!

Since 1933 The Voice of Our Community Speaking for Itself.
89 Years of LA Sentinel.
Black News.

LA Sentinel
in your pocket:


LA Watts Times

© 2022 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

AboutArchivesContact UsCorrections & MisprintsMedia Kit

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »