Councilmember Heather Hutt (File photo)

Los Angeles City Council is breaking barriers with Council President Paul Krekorian’s recent announcement surrounding new committee assignments. For the first time in history, City Council will have an all-women’s committee, with Councilwoman Heather Hutt leading as chair of the Transportation committee.

As Chair of the Transportation committee, 10th District Councilmember Hutt will work to report any pertinent information or recommendations to city council surrounding the transportation department; along with Vice Chair Traci Park, Councilmember 11th District; Eunisses Hernandez, Councilmember 1st District; Nithya Raman, Councilmember 4th District and Katy Yaroslavsky, Councilmember 5th District.

“Transportation represents a very pivotal part of economic development, sustainable accessibility and unifying communities. As a staffer under former Senator Kamala Harris, I remember the ongoing work of obtaining funding for Metro’s The purple Line. I know how important mobility is and will be to our city and our community. I am grateful for the opportunity to work alongside my fellow council members to change this committee and city for the better,” said Councilwoman Hutt.

Transportation Committee consists of the following categories: Department, Transportation Commission, Taxi Cab Commission, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, California High-Speed Rail Authority, Exposition Metro Line Construction Authority, Metro Gold Line Foothill Extension Construction Authority, Southern California Regional Rail Authority (Metrolink), Eco-Rapid Transit. Public transportation; school crossings; traffic; transportation; shared-use mobility; travel demand management and enforcement; parking management, enforcement, and control; taxicabs; State and Federal highways and freeways; traffic safety programs, including enforcement; off-street parking facilities except by the City Mall; traffic signalization and control; transportation franchises; expenditure of funds from the Proposition A Local Transit Assistance Fund, the Proposition C Anti-Gridlock Transit Assistance Fund, the Measure R Traffic Relief and Rail Expansion Ordinance, Measure M, the Los Angeles County Traffic Improvement Plan, and the Special Parking Revenue Fund; transportation-related matters of SCAG.