Wednesday, October 27, 2021
By Special to the Sentinel
Published January 28, 2021
District Announces Officers for 2021

HAROLD C. WILLIAMS (Courtesy Photo)

The West Basin Municipal Water District board of directors elected Harold C. Williams, P.E., MSCE to serve as president during its annual board re-organization and meeting in January.

As president, Williams will facilitate the appointment of committees and assignment of representatives to affiliate organizations, and shall have the primary responsibility for interpreting the policies, programs and needs of the District to the public.

“I’m honored to serve as Board President, to help advance our District goals and mission to provide a safe, reliable supply of drinking water to our communities, especially during these challenging times,” said Williams. “I’m hopeful that in the year ahead we’ll focus on the essential work of advancing critical projects and planning West Basin’s path forward.”


Williams represents the Division I cities of Carson, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, and unincorporated Los Angeles County area of Rancho Dominguez. Williams also serves as one of two West Basin representatives on the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California (MWD) Board of Directors. He is a credentialed professional engineer, holds a master of science in civil engineering, and is a Distinguished Toastmaster.

The board also elected Director Donald L. Dear to serve as vice president, Director Scott Houston as treasurer, and the newly sworn-in Director Desi Alvarez as secretary. Director Gloria D. Gray was named immediate past president.

West Basin is governed by a five-member board of directors who are publicly elected to represent 17 cities throughout its 185-square mile service area in coastal Los Angeles County. Vice President Dear represents the Division V cities of Gardena, Hawthorne, Lawndale and unincorporated Los Angeles County areas of El Camino Village.  Treasurer Houston represents the Division IV cities of Culver City, El Segundo, Malibu, West Hollywood and unincorporated LA County areas of Del Aire, Lennox, Marina del Rey, North Ladera Heights, Topanga, View Park, Windsor Hills and Wiseburn. Secretary Alvarez represents the Division III cities of Hermosa Beach, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Redondo Beach and a portion of Torrance. Representing the Division II city of Inglewood and unincorporated Los Angeles County areas of Lennox, South Ladera Heights, West Athens and Westmont is Director Gray.

For more information on West Basin’s board and committees, please visit

Categories: Local | News | News (Business) | Political
Tags: | | | | | | | | |

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!

Since 1933 The Voice of Our Community Speaking for Itself.
88 Years of LA Sentinel.
Black News.

Black Fact of the Day

Photo of the Day


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:


LA Watts Times

© 2021 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

AboutArchivesContact UsCorrections & MisprintsMedia Kit

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »