(courtesy photo)

The National Black Public Relations Society (NBPRS) is celebrating its 20th anniversary, and, in recognition, the Los Angeles Chapter will honor 20 trailblazers in communications and culture. Black Public Relations Society of Los Angeles (BPRS-LA) will host the 20th Anniversary Awards Celebration on Friday, November 16 at 6 p.m. at the California African American Museum in Los Angeles, Calif.  

During this special event, the organization will award executives from across film, television, sports, music, fashion and technology. Hosted by Entertainment Tonight’s Kevin Frazier, honorees will include Erika Bennett, global head of digital marketing, YouTube Originals and YouTube TV; Cheryl Boone Isaacs, immediate past president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; Michael Lewellen, APR, vice president of corporate communications and public engagement, Portland Trail Blazers; Ellene V. Miles, senior vice president of intersectional marketing, Sony Pictures Entertainment; Shawn Smith, BPRS-LA co-president and senior communications executive with Warner Bros. Consumer Products; Lindsay Wagner, vice president, Ketchum; and Tosha Whitten-Griggs, senior vice president of public relations for TV One.  

Other notable honorees include Nina Parker, co-host of E!’s “Nightly Pop;” Beverly White, general assignment reporter for NBC 4; Kristin Robinson, vice president of brand marketing and communications for Shondaland; Leshelle V. Sargent, director of publicity, Warner Bros. Worldwide Television; Tre’vell Anderson, director of culture and entertainment, Out Magazine; Everette Taylor, founder and CEO of ET Enterprises; Melissa Mills, public relations manager, Cartoon Network; Kenya Friend-Daniel, national director of public relations, Trader Joe’s; Brandon I. Brooks, managing editor of Los Angeles Sentinel and L.A. Watts Times Newspapers; Imani Greene, senior corporate communications manager, LinkedIn; Kevin Stuckey, manager of original film publicity, Netflix; Kiki Ayers, founder of Ayers Publicity, and Karen Civil, entrepreneur and host of “Good Looking Out” on Complex.  

“We celebrate the legacy of NBPRS, and its ongoing efforts to champion diversity and advocate on behalf of diverse professionals,” said Shawn Smith, co-president BPRS-LA. “Our honorees exemplify excellence and their impact goes beyond communications to shape our culture and world. We are excited to honor such an accomplished group of individuals, and we are inspired every day by their achievements.”   

“NBPRS is proud to recognize the 20th anniversary of our organization and to celebrate these wonderful honorees,” said Neil Foote, NBPRS president. “Our organization and its affiliates around the country have always – and will continue to – advocate for diversity in the industry.” 

The celebration will feature five award categories including PR Power Pros, PR Power Players, Power Press, Power of Influence, and seven recipients will receive the highest honor, the Pat Tobin Award named in honor of the late PR pioneer and NBPRS co-founder.  

Dignitaries, celebrities, and media will attend the award ceremony. BPRS-LA 20th Anniversary Awards Celebration is sponsored by CBS Entertainment Diversity & Inclusion, Cartoon Network LinkedIn TVOne  Warner Bros. Television and Uncle Nearest 1856 Premium Whiskey. 

For additional event information and tickets, please visit BPRSLA 20th Awards Celebration.