Monday, January 30, 2023
NAACP Compton Branch Installs New Board  
By Cora Jackson-Fossett, Staff Writer 
Published February 21, 2019

From left are Tori Correia, board member; Barbara Calhoun, Compton College trustee; Paulette Simpson-Gipson, branch president; and Pastor Byron Smith, board member. (Cora J. Fossett/L.A. Sentinel)

Community members, elected officials and several young people came out on Feb. 16, to applaud the new board of directors for the NAACP Compton Branch. 

The mid-morning ceremony, held at the Compton Airport, marked a new era for the branch, according to President Paulette Simpson-Gipson, who added that the organization just received the Dr. H. Claude Hudson 2018 Small Branch Award from the California State NAACP Conference. 

“We think we are one of the baddest and boldest organizations in the country. A lot of people, in today’s time, don’t understand where we’re at or where we’re coming from, but this organization is still strong and vital,” said Simpson-Gipson, who also outlined two campaigns the branch has developed aimed at young people.  


Describing the courtroom observers program, Simpson-Gipson invited members and volunteers to attend hearings involving adults to monitor the proceedings. “We can show our support for our people by being present and serving as silent advocates,” she said. 

The youth entrepreneurship program will instruct youth in starting, funding, marketing and maintaining their own businesses. “It will be free to the community and we will be the supporters of our kids’ business.  We want to give our kids a chance to succeed because society is not going to do it,” noted Simpson-Gipson. 

The officers and executive committee of the NAACP Compton Branch. (Cora J. Fossett/L.A. Sentinel)

The participants in the installation included Judge Kelvin Filer, Compton Councilmembers Tana McCoy and Emma Sharif, Compton College Trustee Barbara Calhoun, Baptist Ministers Conference President K.W. Tulloss, and former State Senator Rod Wright.  

The new Compton Branch officers are Paulette Simpson-Gipson, president; Latanya Ganter, 1st vice president; Ernest “Scobby” Green, 2nd vice president; Sharon Givens, 3rd vice president; Gayle Payne secretary; Willie Carson, treasurer; and Tanell Green, assistant treasurer. 

The Executive Committee members are Inez “Tootie” Adkins, Jacqueline Amah, Kenneth Clark, Tori Correia, Ebonie Gipson, Tina Kandakai, Frank Lee, David Morrow, Londie Pratt, Freddie Riley, Pastor Byron Smith, Donnell Smith, Joy Smith, Richard Teems, Andranay Williams and Katrina Williams. 

Categories: National | News
Tags: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!

Since 1933 The Voice of Our Community Speaking for Itself.
90 Years of LA Sentinel.
Black News.

Daily Brief

LA Sentinel
in your pocket:


LA Watts Times

© 2023 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

AboutArchivesContact UsCorrections & MisprintsMedia Kit

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »