(L-R) Mitchell Brandon Rodgers – Winner, Chelsea Hicks – Winner, Brandon Hammond – Winner, Jennifer Jenesis Scott – Winner, Herb Wesson Jr. – LA City Council President Emeritus, Sherri G. Sneed – Project Director, Kemiyondo Coutinho – Winner, York Walker – Winner Photo by Valerie Goodloe

The Pan African Film Festival and the Los Angeles City Council President Emeritus Herb J. Wesson, Jr. announces the winners of the John Singleton Short Film Competition.

1. Jennifer J. Scott and Brandon Hammond for their script “Amaru”

2. Chelsea Hicks and Mitchell Brandon Rodgers for their script “Contraband”

3. Kemiyondo Coutinho and York Walker for their script “The Séance”

In his remarks at the announcement, LA City Council President Emeritus Herb J. Wesson, Jr. said that each winner will receive $20,000 to produce a short film with their scripts. This competition was funded by the city of Los Angeles through the embRACE LA Initiative.