Saturday, August 24, 2019
CLOSE
 
EDD Awards $5 Million to Help Train 1,200 California Veterans for Careers in High-Growth Industries
By Sentinel News Service
Published May 31, 2019

The California Employment Development Department (EDD) announced today it has awarded $5 million in Veterans’ Employment-Related Assistance Program grants to 11 organizations to help approximately 1,200 veterans secure jobs in growing industries.

“EDD is proud to provide California veterans with the tools they need to transition into sustainable careers,” said EDD Director Patrick W. Henning. “This funding will help train and prepare former military personnel for high-growth civilian jobs.”

The 11 organizations receiving the grants provide employment services in six counties including Contra Costa, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Diego and Ventura. Eligible veterans will receive vocational training and support services to prepare them for jobs in emerging local industries.

Services to veterans will include career assessments, job workshops and on-the-job training. Some of the targeted industries the veterans will train for include:

•   Administrative and Professional Services
•   Healthcare
•   Advanced Manufacturing and Technology
•   Protection Services
•   Computer Information and Technology
•   Renewable Energy
•   Construction
•   Transportation and Logistics
•   Customer Service/Retail Sales

Funding for this grant was provided through discretionary funds made available to Governor Gavin Newsom in accordance with the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act and is administered by the EDD and the California Labor and Workforce Development Agency.

The recipient organizations were selected through a competitive selection process as part of the 2019 Veterans’ Employment-Related Assistance Program. Information on the grant recipients is included in the following table:

Awardee         County  Amount  Contact
City of Pasadena/Foothill Workforce Development Board   Los Angeles     $488,635
Dianne Russel-Carter
(626) 584-8395
mailto:drussel@foothilletc.org

Goodwill Industries of Orange County    Orange  $488,635
Kathy Copeland
(714) 547-6308
kathyc@ocgoodwill.org

Interfaith Community Services   San Diego  $488,635
Filipa Rios
(760) 489-6380
frios@interfaithservices.org

Managed Career Solutions        Los Angeles     $488,635
Philip Starr
(213) 355-5312
pstarr@mcscareergroup.com

Richmond Workforce Development Board    Contra Costa    $488,635
Sal Vaca
(510) 307-8006
avaca@richmondworks.org

Riverside County Development Agency      Riverside       $488,635
T. Kim Pham
(951) 955-0464
tpham@rivco.org

South Bay Workforce Investment Board     Los Angeles    $488,635
Jan Vogel
(310) 970-7700
JVogel@sbwib.org

United States Veterans Initiative  Los Angeles  $288,645
Akilah Templeton
(310) 744-6522
atempleton@usvetsinc.org

Veterans & Youth Career Collaborative    Los Angeles    $313,640
Nelson Varas
(562) 424-0038
nvaras@vycareer.org

Workforce Development Board of Ventura County     Ventura        $488,635
Jeff Landis
(805) 477-5444
jeff.landis@ventura.org

Youth Policy Institute  Los Angeles       $488,635
Stan Saunders
(323) 978-1033
ssaunders@ypi.org

 

Categories: Business | Finance
Tags: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!



Since 1933 The Voice of Our Community Speaking for Itself.
86 Years of LA Sentinel.
Black News.
SEARCH:    
Videos


Photo of the Day

Events

LA Sentinel
in your pocket:





NIPSEY HUSSLE
COMMEMORATIVE EDITION

LA Watts Times


TOS-Cookbook-Web

© 2019 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

AboutArchivesContact UsCorrections & MisprintsMedia Kit

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »