Dodgers Named Best Defensive Team of the Year

Los Angeles Dodgers’ Yasiel Puig follows the flight of his double off Colorado Rockies starting pitcher Tyler Chatwood in the first inning of a baseball game Saturday, April 23, 2016, in Denver. (AP Photo/David Zalubowski)

Wilson®, The Official Ball Glove of Major League Baseball®, announced the 2017 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards tonight in a special telecast on MLB Network hosted by Robert Flores and Eric Byrnes. The Twins’ 23-year-old centerfield phenom Byron Buxton is one of five first-time winners and the overall Wilson Defensive Player of the Year.
The Angels’ Andrelton Simmons continued his dominance as MLB’s leading defender at shortstop, winning a fourth award over five years. The Rockies’ Nolan Arenado earned honors as baseball’s best defender at third base for a third straight year. Meanwhile, the National League Champion Los Angeles Dodgers are MLB’s Defensive Team of the Year. Here’s the complete list of the 2017 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award winners:

Touted as one of the more prominent and respected Major League Baseball awards, the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award is the official MLB defensive achievement award. The award recognizes the top defensive player at each position across Leagues, and since 2014 has recognized the best overall defensive team. One player is also recognized as the top Overall Defensive Player in MLB.

Winners, both individual positions and the team award, are determined using a formula that combines traditional defensive stats with advanced metrics, as well as the data logged by the baseball experts working for the scouting service Inside Edge.

For the sixth consecutive year, MLB Network made the exclusive announcement of the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards. The special telecast featured all 10 awards inside MLB Network’s studios. Each trophy bears the name of the winner, including the team award earned by the Dodgers. The specially designed Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards will be presented to each winner in on-field ceremonies early in the 2018 MLB season.