U.S. Congressman James E. Clyburn

House Majority Whip-Elect James E. Clyburn released the following statement regarding new Chief Deputy Whips for the 116th Congress: 

 “I am pleased to announce that Representatives John Lewis (GA-05) and Jan Schakowsky (IL-09) are continuing on the Whip Team in the 116th Congress and will serve as Senior Chief Deputy Whips. Other returning Chief Deputy Whips are Representatives Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), G.K. Butterfield (NC-01), Peter Welch (VT-AL), and Terri Sewell (AL-07). They will be joined by Representatives Shelia Jackson Lee (TX-18), Dan Kildee (MI-05), Pete Aguilar (CA-31), and Henry Cuellar (TX-28). 

“I am thrilled that Representative Jan Schakowsky has agreed to serve alongside Representative John Lewis as a Senior Chief Deputy Whip. Jan’s strong legislative record and progressive values will serve our Whip team well. She has been a Chief Deputy Whip since 2003. I will call on her experience often as we face the historic challenges and opportunities in the 116th Congress. 

Congressman Cedric L. Richmond (courtesy photo)

“In my campaign for Majority Whip, I promised to involve every segment of our Caucus and empower the next generation of leaders as integral parts of the Whip team. In keeping with that commitment. I have named Representative Cedric Richmond (LA-02) Assistant to the Majority Whip. In the coming days, I will announce a history making staff to further undergird that commitment.  I am very excited for the diverse set of experiences and talents these members and staff will bring to the table. 

“As we fill out the rest of the Whip team in the coming days and weeks we will seek input from across the Caucus including many of the Caucus’ younger members and our historic incoming freshman class to ensure their voices are heard.”