In conjunction with and support of Monumental Los Angeles April 29-May 4, 2022, Twinbiz is proud to announce that the Department of Cultural Affairs’ Leimert Park Cultural Hub will commission a total of six playwrights, actors, or spoken word artists to create and perform original or historical works in theatrical observance of the 30th anniversary of the LA Civil Uprising.

Actors will perform monologues, short plays, or poetry no more than five minutes in length. Performances will take place in Leimert Plaza Park in front of the installations of Hank Willis Thomas’ All Power to All People, at 3PM for six days.

Each of the six projects represent the six days of uprising in the 1992 rebellion. Each project will receive an award of $2,000, which consists of an artist dee and production fee paid in two installments: the first being made upon execution of the contract, and the second at the completion of the performance.

Theater artist must live or work in Los Angeles City Council Districts 8, 9 or 10 to apply. Please send submissions to [email protected]. with the subject line read Voices of the Rebellion, Your Name.

A complete application consists of the guideline below:

Applicants must be professional playwrights, actors or spoken word artists; heritage-based theater practitioners, culture keepers and/or educators that are engaged in diverse commercial, non-profit, and independent theatrical work, inclusive of traditional and contemporary performance techniques. Professional theatre artists considered create meaningful contributions to the field, community and theater ecosystem, are essential to the field, produce cultural content for the audiences of the City of Los Angeles, as well as maintain and cultivate knowledge and expertise in their discipline.

Applicants must live or work within the geographic boundaries of South Los Angeles, specifically Council Districts 8, 9, or 10. Visit, enter your physical street address in the search field, and click on “FIND.” In your search result, you should see your City Council District number and the LA City Councilmember’s name listed under Elected Officials.