Thursday, August 18, 2022
Winners From Inaugural NBA Awards on TNT
By Amanda Scurlock
Published June 29, 2017

NEW YORK, NY – JUNE 26: (L-R) Russell Westbrook, Nick Collison, Andre Roberson, Taj Gibson, Enes Kanter, and Victor Oladipo speak onstage during the 2017 NBA Awards Live on TNT on June 26, 2017 in New York, New York. 27111_002 (Photo by Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for TNT)

The inaugural NBA Awards on TNT were held on June 26. Hosted by Drake, the show celebrated top performers from the 2016-17 season and honored other NBA luminaries.

The list of NBA Awards winners and voting totals where applicable are below. Individual ballots for the NBA’s annual media-voted awards are posted on  – the fourth straight year those ballots will be made public after being tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP.

Kia NBA Most Valuable Player: Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder | Voting Totals
Kia NBA Rookie of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee Bucks | Voting Totals
Kia NBA Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks | Voting Totals
Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors | Voting Totals
Kia NBA Sixth Man Award: Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets | Voting Totals
NBA Coach of the Year: Mike D’Antoni, Houston Rockets | Voting Totals
NBA Basketball Executive of the Year: Bob Myers, Golden State Warriors Voting Totals

NEW YORK, NY – JUNE 26: NBA player Draymond Green accepts the Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year award onstage during the 2017 NBA Awards Live on TNT on June 26, 2017 in New York, New York. 27111_002 (Photo by Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for TNT)

Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks | Voting Totals
NBA Sportsmanship Award: Kemba Walker, Charlotte Hornets | Voting Totals
Seasonlong NBA Cares Community Assist Award Presented by Kaiser Permanente: Isaiah Thomas, Boston Celtics
Performance of the Year: Golden State Warriors’ Klay Thompson scores 60 in three quarters vs. Indiana Pacers
Game Winner of the Year: Oklahoma City Thunder’s Russell Westbrook vs. Denver Nuggets
Dunk of the Year: Oklahoma City Thunder’s Victor Oladipo vs. Atlanta Hawks
Assist of the Year: Golden State Warriors’ Draymond Green to Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant vs. Indiana Pacers
Block of the Year: San Antonio Spurs’ Kawhi Leonard vs. Houston Rockets
Best Playoff Moment: Golden State Warriors’ Kevin Durant vs. Cleveland Cavaliers in Game 3 of The Finals
Best Style: Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder
Lifetime Achievement Award: Bill Russell, Boston Celtics legend
Sager Strong Award: Monty Williams, San Antonio Spurs
Hustle Stats Award: Patrick Beverley, Houston Rockets
Jr. NBA Coach of the Year: Carrie Berran of Eagan, Minn.
Categories: Basketball | Sports
Tags: | | | | | | |

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!

Since 1933 The Voice of Our Community Speaking for Itself.
89 Years of LA Sentinel.
Black News.

Daily Brief

LA Sentinel
in your pocket:


LA Watts Times

© 2022 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

AboutArchivesContact UsCorrections & MisprintsMedia Kit

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »