Black Women Gather at the California African American Museum for a ‘Crowning’ Event

(creds: Ian Foxx)

It was Friday, June 17 – the end of a long week filled with heavy news, organizing, fighting for the rights of Black women, families and communities in need. Yet, trailblazers, leaders and supporters arrived at the California African American Museum in numbers to simply honor each other and remind themselves that they are not alone in their crusades.

Regina Wilson, representing the California Black Media, welcomed the attendees. Kellie Todd Griffin, California Black Women’s Collective (CABWC) convening founder, acknowledged elected officials, honorees and thanked CABWC event organizers/ strategy team, volunteers and everyone involved in the production of the historic event.

Opening remarks were presented by Supervisor Holly J. Mitchell, Senator Steve Bradford, Senator Sydney Kamlager and District Attorney Diana Becton.

(creds: Ian Foxx)

Sponsors included SEIU (Service Employees International Union) 2015; SEIU 712; UDW AFSCME 3930; Black Women Organized for Political Action (BWOPA); California Black Media; Molina Health; Blue Shield Promise; The Hutt Group; LA Care; Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science; Evitarus; United Teachers Los Angeles (UTLA); Martin Luther King Community Health Care; and the Commission on the Status of Women and Girls.

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Legacy Awardees included Honorable Congressional Members Maxine Waters, Karen Bass, Barbara Lee and Diane Watson (retired); Honorable Dezie Woods Jones, BWOPA; Honorable Sophie Maxwell, former San Francisco Supervisor; Celestine Palmer, L.A. African American Women’s Political Action Committee (LAAAWPAC); Ruth Jones-Sawyer, civil rights activist; Bobbie Jean Anderson, labor/ political leader; and Ericka Huggins, Black Panthers.

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Civil Rights Awardees included Dr. Melina Abdullah, Black Lives Matter; Lori Condinus, Los Angeles National Action Network; Jetaun Stevens, Esq. Public Advocates; Pastor Thebekila Coleman Smart, Women of Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC); and Betty Williams, Sacramento National Assn. for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP).

(creds: Ian Foxx)

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Labor Awardees included April Verrett, SEIU 2015; Cecily Myartz-Cruz, UTLA; Kimberly Moore, United Domestic Workers (UDW); Dewanda Mitchell, American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) Local 1061; Champagne Brown, SEIU 1021; Yvette Elam, UDW; and Tia Orr, SEIU State Council.

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Education/ Non-Profit/ Faith-based/ Community Based Organizations Awardees included Charisse Bremon-Weaver, Brotherhood Crusade; Karen Earl, Jenesse Center; Tracy Mitchell, Mothers in Action; Wendy Gladney, Forgiving for Living, Inc.; Tunua Thrash Ntuk, The Center for Lendistry; Angela Minniefield, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science; Cynthia Heard, Greater Los Angeles YWCA; Kandee Lewis, Positive Results; Tammie Denyse, Carrie’s Touch; Cassandra Jennings, St. Hope; Rev. Dr. Najuma Smith-Pollard, USC Center for Religious & Civic Culture; Janet Ganaway-Kelly, Sanctuary of Hope; Tomiquia Moss, All Home; Gina Clayton-Johnson, Essie Justic Group; Rachel Westmoreland, Oakland Promise; Vashone Huff, public affairs consultant; Kimberly Mayfield, Holy Name University; and Nyeisha DeWitt, Oakland Natives Give Back.

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Political Awardees included Hon. Holly J. Mitchell, L.A. Board of Supervisors; Hon. Sydney Kamlager, California State Senator; Hon. Diana Becton, Contra Costa County; Alyce Pipkin Allen, Black & African Women Rise Democratic Club; Angela de Joseph, Women of Color Roar; Patrice Marshall McKenzie, L.A. African American Women’s Public Policy Institute; Hon. Donesia Gause, MMC, City of Riverside; Capri Maddox, L.A. Civil Rights Dept., City of Los Angeles; Yolanda Richardson, Health Plan of San Francisco; Daysha Austin, California State Assembly; Veronie Steele-Small, Los Angeles County; Carolyn Fowler, CA Democratic Women’s Caucus; Keisha Thomas, Fresno Unified School District Board of Trustees; Patricia “Patt” Sanders, L.A. County Democratic Party (LACDP). Aisha Brown, Bay Area Rapid Transit; and Lisa Williams, Office of State Assemblymember Mia Bonta.

(creds: Ian Foxx)

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Advocacy Awardees included Jasmyne Cannick, Journalist and Advocate; Sonya Young Aadam, CA Black Women’s Health Project; Kiara Pruitt, Sistahs Aging with Grace and Elegance; Crystal Crawford, Western Center on Law & Poverty; Thea Williams, Black Pride & Promote; Rosalind Renfro, Black Pride & Promote; Dr. Flojaune Cofer, Public Health Advocates; Micia Mosely, Black Teacher Project; and Mistie Bell-Renfro, Community Advocate.

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Media Awardees included Gwendolyn Priestly, PR Diva; Reginia Wilson, CA Black Media; Pamela Bakewell, The Bakewell Company and L.A. Sentinel; Pleshette Robertson, Sac Cultural Hub Bilen Mesfin Change Consultants; and Sandra Jackson Dumont, Lucas Museum.

(creds: Ian Foxx)

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Corporate Awardees included Dr. Elaine Batchlor, Martin Luther King Community Health; Natalie White, Los Angeles Sparks; Acacia B. Reed, L.A. Care; Janine Bera, M.D., Wellspace Health; Regina Wallace-Jones, MindBody; and Hope Scott, Blue Shield of California.

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Legal Awardees included Angela Reddock-Wright, Reddock Law; Karen Pointer, Esq., Lerman & Pointer; Fredericka McGee, Esq., Supervisor Holly J. Mitchell; Augustavia J. Haydel, Esq., L.A.Care; Caree Harper, Esq., Law Offices of Caree Harper; and Eva Patterson, Equal Justice Society.

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Business and Entrepreneurship Awardees included Areva Martin, Special Needs Network/ Butterfly Health; Cari Jackson Lewis, J.D., LL.M., California Philanthropic Consulting; Denise Pines, WisePause; Delilah Laniox, Butterfly Transportation; Cheryl Hinds, California Bank & Trust; Sharon Selico, Forever Caring; Nenna Joiner, Feelmore; Melanie Shelby, GGSV, LLC; Regina Davis, Strategic Urban Development Alliance; Cathy Adams, Oakland African American Chamber of Commerce; and Lisbet Tellefsen, Archivist/ Collector/ Curator/ Publisher.

(creds: Ian Foxx)

2022 CABWC Trailblazer GenNow Awardees included Kristian Huling, SEIU Local 721; Brisa Johnson, UDW; Satomi Rash-Ziegler, San Diego & Imperial Counties Labor Council; Hon. Kristin McGuire, Young Invincibles; Ay’Anna Moody, Golden State Warriors; Commissioner Joni Ricks, City of Long Beach; Hon. Dawnte Early, United Way, Capitol Region; Lauren Babb, CA Commission on the Status of Women and Girls; Rachel Brashier, CA Black Women Democratic Club; Dr. Nina Nieves Richardson, USC; Hon. KaDijah Brown, Berkeley Unified School District Board of Trustees; and Jessica Moncada, Alkali Rye.

2022 CABWC Trailblazer Memorial Awards included Hon. Gwen Moore, former Assemblymember; Linda Dent, Labor Leader; Brenda Marsh-Mitchell, Community Leader; and Gwen Green, Civil Rights Leader.

CABWC is a coalition of intergenerational Black women who bring together a span of expertise who have come together to stand in support of issues and priorities that are vital to elevate Black women. CABWC officially launched in February 2021 with 12 members. Today, there are more than 1,450 members.

For more information, issues and future events, visit