Monday, November 20, 2017
NAACP Los Angeles Youth Council Awards “Meritorious Women”
By Super User
Published March 30, 2012

NAACP Los Angeles Youth Council’s “2012 Meritorious Women” Awardees-(Seated left to right) Ida Mitchell Jones, Joyce E. Lockridge, Evelyn Freeman and Dr. Rosentene Bennet-Purnell. (Standing left to right) Christine Brooks Martin, Krystal Greene, Valerie Loduem, Arvis Jones, Dr. J. Michelle Rainey-Woods, and Beverly Brinson-Reece. Not shown: Patrica Becton-Cobb, Alyson Fouse and Renee McClellan.

NAACP Los Angeles Youth Council Awards “Meritorious Women”

Honorees include educators, authors, entrepreneurs, counselors, and media professionals

Women’s History Month is dedicated to celebrating and remembering famous women during the Month of March. The Los Angeles NAACP Youth Council celebrated women in the community who have made immeasurable contributions to “the village” that helps to raise our African American children.

The Youth Council honored thirteen brave and talented African American Women on Saturday, March 17, 2012, to bring awareness of the impact these women have made as leaders and mentors in the community. They are deemed outstanding women who contribute positive modeling, helping young people build their dreams and enabling them to see those dreams come true.

Honorees included educators, authors, entrepreneurs, counselors, and media professionals, such as: Patricia Bencton-Cobb, a Spelman College graduate who unselfishly uses her creative skills and her understanding of human relations to work with the Ladera Heights Top Teens of America; Alyson Fouse, a freelance writer for the entertainment industry. She wrote her first unsolicited sketch for “John London and The House Party.” Her writings caught the attention of actor and movie producer, Keenan Ivory Wayans. She is in the process of producing the Fall 2012 release of a suspenseful thriller, “Summerland;” Valerie Lodeum, a Compton resident, who is currently the associate director of African American Programs for the American Diabetes Association; Evelyn Freeman, who has enjoyed teaching music in Compton schools and in her home, directing the award-winning Compton Boys Choir, and the Bells Choir at her church; Krystal Green, an anchor for the English Program on Channel One, and an English teacher at Inglewood High School; Arvis Jones, the assistant director of The Center for Grief and Loss where she helps to provide a supportive environment for families who are experiencing some type of grief and loss,  a music therapist, and directs The Area VI Top Teens of America Choir; Ida Mitchell Jones, served on the NAACP Executive Board under the leadership of Attorney Joseph Duff. Now she enjoys worshipping at Second Baptist Church where she is an icon among the membership, especially the youth.

Additional honorees included: Joyce Lockridge, who has enjoyed years of teaching, known for stressing “Excellence,” and is one of the greatest supporters of the NAACP Youth Council; Renee McClellan, an Emmy Award-winning producer of the PSA “Pick Me for the Toy Loan Program.” She is also a writer, a member of the Screen Actors Guild (SAG), and screenwriter of the debut short film; “Beyond the Pretty Door.” “Believe, Achieve and Receive,” is her message to the young people in our communities.

Categories: News (Family)

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »