Saturday, October 21, 2017
Miller-Lawrence Medical & Dental Society honors a medial icon with 2012 Trailblazers Award
By Jason Lewis (Sports Editor,
Published December 6, 2012

Dr. Ezra C. Davidson was honored with the 2012 Trailblazer Award.  Photo by Jason Lewis


Scholarship recipients with Krystal M. Neely, M.D. and Clifford A. Hancock, M.D.  Photo by Jason Lewis 



Dr. Ezra C. Davidson was honored, and $9,000 of scholarship money was awarded to medical and dental students.  


The Miller-Lawrence Medical & Dental Society hosted an elegant affair at The Grand in Long Beach for their 7th Annual Scholarship and Recognition Dinner.  Medical and dental students were awarded $9,000 in scholarship money, and Ezra C. Davidson, Jr., M.D. was honored with the 2012 Trailblazer Award.


Prestigious members of the African-American community were on hand, and congratulations were sent from 52nd Assembly District Member Isadore Hall, 51st District Assembly Member Steve Bradford, Senator Roderick D. Wright, and Chairman of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors Mark Ridley-Thomas.


Davidson is a Professor Emeritus (past chairman 1971-96), Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science and recent Associate Dean, Primary Care (1997-2007).  Currently, he also is a professor in Obstetrics and Gynecology at UCLA.  He was chief-of-staff, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, at King/Drew Medical Center in Los Angeles (1971-1996).  


Davidson received his B.S. cum laude from Morehouse College, and M.D. from Meharry Medical College.  He is a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., and Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society.  


Davidson has blazed a trail for a number of African American doctors to succeed in the medical profession.  


As much as it was a night to honor Davidson, it was also a night for awarding scholarships to deserving students in the medial and dental fields.  Over the past seven years the Miller-Lawrence Medical and Dental Society has given out over $70,000 in scholarship money.  


This year’s scholarship recipients were Ciara M. Brinney, St. Francis Career College (nursing student); Natalie G. Buck, University of California Los Angeles (nursing student); Courtney M. Clayton, University of Southern California Ostrow School of Dentistry (Dental Student); Maita S. Kuvhenguhwa, Charles Drew University/David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA (medical student); Lvuoma N. Onyeador, University of California Los Angeles (psychology doctoral student); and Brent A. Tucker, Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry (dental student).  


The Miller-Lawrence Medical & Dental Society is a group of health care providers in Compton, South Los Angeles and the South Bay. Their membership is comprised of physicians and dentists in primary care specialties, as well as all other medical and surgical sub-specialties, and providers in academic medicine, military medicine, medical administration and allied health. 


Their members serve a disproportionately high number of underserved patients who are African American and other minorities, and they practice primarily in urban areas.

Categories: Local

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

Taste of Soul Sponsors

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »

Enter For a Chance to Win!

HYUNDAI "Better" Contest at Taste of Soul Los Angeles