Wednesday, January 27, 2021
By Sentinel News Service
Published August 20, 2011

Assemblyman Mike Davis (A-48) in front of a portrait of the late Mayor Tom Bradley

The Southern California Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) presented Assemblyman Mike Davis with the Tom Bradley Equal Opportunity Award at the 63rd Annual Awards & Installation Luncheon. The sold out event held at The California Endowment celebrated some of the foremost and prominent leaders in Southern California and welcomed their newest board members. 


“My work establishing two state laws that increases women and minority supplier participation in both the water and cell phone industries in California serves as a reflection of the outstanding leadership Mayor Tom Bradley provided in bringing people of all cultures together.” said Assemblyman Mike Davis. “Inclusion is always better than exclusion and for that reason I am working to end prison gerrymandering in California to ensure that all prisoners are counted, for the purpose of redistricting, according to the California Election Code Section 2025 which states that prisoners should be counted in the communities where they live as opposed to the places where they serve out their sentences. Implementation of this policy will establish fairness in the representation of each political body in the state so that each will represent the same approximate amount of constituents according to the provisions of the 14th Amendment of the United States Constitution.  Mayor Tom Bradley ruled in a fair and just way.  I am honored to be recognized for my legislation which attempts to create state policy of fair and just inclusion,” remarked Assemblyman Davis.

The 400-member chapter’s motto is:  “Where Leaders Meet Leaders.”  It was evident by the distinguished honorees and guests present that leadership abounded in the room.  Assemblyman Davis’ co-honorees included Regina Nordahl and Carol Rush, Will Baughman Chapter Development Award; Janice Y. Fukai, Clarence A. Dykstra Award for Excellence in Government; Connie Rice, Henry Reining Outstanding Organization Award; Dr. Richard Callahan, Harry Scoville Award for Academic Excellence; Dr. Chester Newland, Earl Warren Outstanding Public Service Award;  University of California-Irvine, Zot Wheels Program, Chapter President Award.

ASPA advances the art, science, teaching and practice of public and non-profit administration through its programs and services and fosters core public service values.

Categories: Local

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!

Since 1933 The Voice of Our Community Speaking for Itself.
88 Years of LA Sentinel.
Black News.

LA Sentinel
in your pocket:


LA Watts Times

© 2021 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

AboutArchivesContact UsCorrections & MisprintsMedia Kit

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »