Thursday, October 19, 2017
Lincoln (MO) takes second straight Women’s Indoor Track and Field National Title
By Sentinel News Service
Published March 17, 2010

Lincoln (MO) takes second straight Women’s Indoor Track and Field National Title

Lincoln (MO) University won its second straight and fourth overall women’s national title at the 2010 NCAA Division II Indoor Track & Field Championships at the Albuquerque Convention Center. Host Adams State College won their first ever men’s national title, outpointing defending champion St. Augustine’s College, 89-56.

Lincoln’s Semony Hackett (7.24) and Janika Martell (7.38) took first and third place to gain 16 points in the 60 meter dash. Hackett, the USTFCCCA South Central Region Track Athlete of the Year, set a new meet record, breaking Barbara Pierre’s 2009 record of 7.29. Pierre, the USTFCCCA co-Atlantic Region Track Athlete of the Year, finished second this year, .04 behind Hackett. Kimour Bruce and Ravel Grey of Lincoln finished one-two in the 60 meter dash to score 18 more points. Bruce ran 6.66 and Grey, a freshman, ran 6.72.

USTFCCCA Atlantic Region Track Athlete of the Year Josh Scott of St. Augustine’s set a new meet record in the 400 meters (46.05). Scott came into the meet ranked No. 1 in the nation in the 200 meters and the 400 meters.

Lincoln’s Hackett and St. Augustine’s Scott both became dual meet winners after they each won the 200 meter dash. Hackett, who won the 60 meter dash earlier in the day, set her second meet record of the championships when she ran 23.32, besting the previous mark of 23.56 set by Davita Prendergast of Lincoln in 2007. Scott also recorded a new meet record in the men’s 200 meter dash. He finished the race in 20.91 after winning the 400 meter dash earlier in the day.

Central Missouri totaled 18 points in the men’s heptathlon, with sophomore Darius Walker earning 10 of those 18 points. Walker earned 5,377 points in the seven events over the past two days. He won the 60 meter dash in 6.97 on Friday, and finished second yesterday in the long jump (6.98 meters) and the 1,000 meter run today (2:49.11). Teammates Brent Vogel finished fourth with 5,129 points and Shawn Boss earned 5,003 points for sixth place. In the women’s pentathlon, the Huskies Heather Miller of St. Cloud State took home the individual championship with 3,993 points, just 69 points ahead of the USTFCCCA South Central Field Athlete of the Year Lindsay Lettow of Central Missouri. Of the five pentathlon events, Miller won the long jump (5.91 meters), had the second best high jump mark (1.64), placed third in the 800 meter run (2:18.74), and fourth in the 60 meter hurdles (8.70) and shot put (10.67 meters). She was named the 2010 Central Region Field Athlete of the Year after scoring a then Division II-best pentathlon mark with 3,910 points, which broke the conference and school records.

Junior Kurt Roberts of Ashland, the USTFCCCA Midwest Region Field Athlete of the Year, set a new meet record in the shot put as he recorded a throw of 19.80 meters (64-11 1/2), breaking the 2006 mark of 19.60 meters which was set by Ashland’s Bryan Vickers. Ashland continued its success in the field events as Abby Kascandi won the high jump (1.77 meters, 5-0 3/4).

Seattle Pacific’s Jessica Pixler became a four-time champion in the mile run with a winning time of 4:46.42. The USTFCCCA West Region Track Athlete of the Year, Pixler also ran the mile leg of the winning Distance Medley Relay team Friday night. Adams State picked up 33 points in the mile run as they had the five top finishers. Aaron Braun, the USTFCCCA Central Region Track Athlete of the Year, ran a time of 4:07.44 to become the individual champion, followed by Ryan McNiff (4:07.47), Reuben Mwei (4:08.24), Brian Medigovich (4:08.41) and Anthony Gauthier (4:08.96).

Ryan Brown of Western Washington cleared 5.16 meters (16-11.00) to win the pole vault. Brown entered the NCAA Indoor Championships as the nation’s top pole vaulter and the USTFCCCA West Region Field Athlete of the Year. Abilene Christian’s Ramon Sparks jumped 15.93 meters (52-03.25) to earn the individual champion honors in the triple jump.

Anja Puc added 10 points for Nebraska-Omaha after she won the 800 meter run in 2:07.14. Minnesota State, Mankato’s Denise Mokaya finished first in 1:51.55, .83 ahead of Queens’ Nelson Mwangi.

Adams State’s Indira Spence set a new meet record in the 60 meter hurdles. Her time of 8.05 broke the mark of 8.07 set by Shermaine Williams of Johnson C. Smith last year. Spence, the USTFCCCA Central Region Track Athlete of the Year, ran the fastest time in Division II and the second fastest time in the NCAA overall. Pittsburg State’s Jeremy Jackson, the USTFCCCA South Central Region and MIAA Track Athlete of the Year, won the men’s 60 meter hurdles in 7.83.

Sophomore Kelly Ash threw the shot put 15.57 meters (51-01.00) to add 10 points to Ashland’s women’s team score. Ash, the USTFCCCA Midwest Region Field Athlete of the Year, is the only athlete to throw over 50 feet this year in Division II.

The USTFCCCA co-Atlantic Region Track Athlete of the Year, Neely Spence of Shippensburg, won the women’s 5,000 meter run in 17:19.98. Earlier this year the sophomore runner set a new PSAC record in the 5K with a time of 16:13.01. Adams State earned 32 out of a possible 39 points in the men’s 5,000 meter run. Brian Medigovich won the overall race in 14:28.46.

Junior Nkeiruka Domike of Nebraska-Omaha became the women’s triple jump individual champion after posting a jump of 12.86 meters (42-02.25).

The team of Michelle Cumberbatch, Nyoka Cole, Yanique Haye and Keniesha Jones from Lincoln won the fastest 4×400 meter relay with a time of 3:40.98. Josh Scott helped St. Augustine’s win the men’s 4×400 meter relay in 3:11.80. It was Scott’s third event championship title of the day.

Categories: Sports

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

Taste of Soul Sponsors

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »

Enter For a Chance to Win!

HYUNDAI "Better" Contest at Taste of Soul Los Angeles