Friday, February 24, 2017
Subscribe   FOLLOW US: 
LAUSD Board Member LaMotte Honors Community Trailblazers
By Sentinel News Service
Published May 9, 2013

Marguerite Poindexter LaMotte

Twenty community trailblazers were recently honored by LAUSD School Board Member Marguerite Poindexter LaMotte at the annual Board District 1 Community Trailblazers ceremony.

The honorees, representing a wide range of professions, were acknowledged for making a difference in the lives of students and communities throughout Board District 1.

They were:  Stacey Lorinn Joy, teacher, Baldwin Hills Gifted Magnet Elementary School;  Young Black Scholars (Dr. Virginia Hathaway and Dr. Little accepting);  Emily Pritchard Benefield, teacher, Widney Special Education Center and volunteer  with the Board District I Saturday Morning Helpers Program; Vivian Ekchian, Chief Human Resources Officer, LAUSD; Gwen Green, community activist and United Long Term Care Workers consultant; Debra Hochman, parent volunteer, Overland Elementary School; Mark Hovatter, Chief Facilities Executive, LAUSD; Ted Johnson, Administrative Coordinator, Beyond The Bell Branch, LAUSD; Darmon Jones, volunteer, Saturday Morning Helpers Program; Agnes Lewis, special education teacher and resource coordinator, Bradley Global Awareness Magnet Elementary School and volunteer, Saturday Morning Helpers Program; Cynthia Lim, Executive Director, Office of Data and Accountability, LAUSD;   Betty Menzies, retired LAUSD College Counselor; Melvin Morris, business owner and volunteer, Saturday Morning Helpers Program; James Perry, Sergeant at Arms, LAUSD; Megan Reilly, Chief Financial Officer, LAUSD; Ari Ruiz, political activist; Covena Stewart Walker, owner, Ena’s  Homeroom Preschool;  Lisa Mendoza, Supervision Aide, and Theresa Millage, cafeteria worker, Loren Miller Elementary School;  and Kimberly Foster, president, Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) and Geanah Kirkwood, vice president, PTO, Purche Elementary School.

“We value your contributions and appreciate all that you do for our students,” said LaMotte in presenting the awardees with flowers and framed certificates.  She was joined in the presentations by Board District 4 Member Steve Zimmer. Entertainment was provided by Jennifer Johnson.


Categories: Local

Get the Taste of Soul App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Privacy PolicyTerms of Service

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

You've reached your limit of 4 free articles per month.

Don't be limited anymore!

Subscribe to the digital version of The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 per month, with the first 2 months free!

Or get both the digital and the print version (mailed to your home or office) all for just $70 a year!

Subscribe Now »

or existing subscribers Login »