Sunday, October 22, 2017
International Civil Rights Walk of Fame Announces 2011 Inductees
By Sentinel News Service
Published December 24, 2010

Bishop Barbara King

Marc H. Morial



Footsteps of Civil Rights Leaders Placed in Historic Site During Annual Trumpet Awards

Atlanta, GA–Footsteps of ten new revered civil rights icons will be added to the International Civil Rights Walk of Fame during the 2011Trumpet Awards events. This induction ceremony is scheduled for Friday, January 28, 2011 at 10:00 a.m. at the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site, National Park Service, located at 450 Auburn Avenue (Atlanta, GA). The program preceding the induction ceremony will be held at the Ebenezer Baptist Church. The ceremonial host for this year’s occasion is Frank Ski with WVEE FM (V103) Radio. The program and unveiling of the footsteps are free and open to the public.

The 2011 honorees in this distinguished group include Arthur Blank, James Brown, The Reverend Dr. Gerald Durley, Bishop Neil C. Ellis, Leon Hall, Bishop Barbara King, Marc H. Morial, Mayor Carl Stokes, Congressman Louis Stokes and Henry “Hank” Thomas.

The International Civil Rights Walk of Fame was created in 2004 to give recognition to the foot soldiers of justice who sacrificed and struggled to make equality a reality for all. This extraordinary display has become one of the most visited tourist attractions in the city of Atlanta and has enriched the heritage of the civil rights movement. The shoes used to create the footsteps will also be on display during the unveiling program.

The International Civil Rights Walk of Fame, now in its eighth year, is sponsored by the Trumpet Awards Foundation, Inc., and was created and designed by Xernona Clayton, founder and executive producer of the renowned Trumpet Awards. Ms. Clayton states, “This is a permanent testimony to those who have dedicated themselves to human progress. Many of the shoes we use in the display remain on exhibition within the Visitors Center for those who visit the King Complex.”

Congressman James E. Clyburn, Judge Damon J. Keith, The Reverend Samuel Billy Kyles, National Newspaper Publishers Association, Eugene C. Patterson, The Reverend Albert Sampson, Rita Jackson Samuels, and Congresswoman Diane E. Watson were inducted in 2010; The Reverend Dr. C.M. Alexander; Danny J. Bakewell, Sr.; Dr. Erieka Bennett; Roberto Goizueta; Cathy Hughes; Earvin “Magic” Johnson; The Links, Incorporated; the Honorable Sam Massell; the Honorable Ernest N. Morial; Father Michael L. Pfleger; the Reverend Al Sharpton, Congressman William L. Clay, Sr. and the Reverend C. T. Vivian were installed in 2009. Dr. Maya Angelou; Senator Edward W. Brooke; Tyrone L. Brooks, Sr.; Sammy Davis, Jr.; Jesse Hill, Jr.; Dr. Benjamin Hooks; Attorney Clarence B. Jones; Tom Joyner; The Right Honorable Prime Minister Michael Manley; Herman Russell, Sr.; and Dr. Wyatt Tee Walker were installed in 2008. Lerone Bennett, Jr.; Tony Bennett; Marian Wright Edelman; Mayor Shirley Franklin; Attorney Frankie Freeman; Joe Louis; Dr. Otis Moss, Jr.; Sir Lynden Pindling; Sir Sidney Poitier; Dr. Otis W. Smith; Congresswoman Maxine Waters; The Honorable L. Douglas Wilder; and Jean Childs Young were the 2007 assemblage of inductees. Reverend Joseph E. Boone; Reverend William Holmes Borders; Xernona Clayton; President William Clinton; Lena Horne; John E. Jacob; Reverend James Orange; The Honorable Bernard Parks; Archbishop Desmond Tutu; and Stevie Wonder were inducted in 2006. Henry Aaron, Ted Turner, Harry Belafonte, Congressman John Conyers, Jr., Dick Gregory, Mayor Maynard H. Jackson, Jr., Ralph E. McGill, Reverend Fred L. Shuttlesworth, Judge Elbert P. Tuttle, Sr., Nancy Wilson, and Reverend Addie L. Wyatt, inducted in 2005. Juanita J. Abernathy; Reverend Ralph David Abernathy, Sr.; Mayor Ivan Allen, Jr.; Julian Bond; President Jimmy Carter; Medgar Evers; Dorothy Height; Reverend Jesse L. Jackson, Sr.; Judge Frank M. Johnson; President Lyndon Baines Johnson; Congressman John Lewis; Evelyn G. Lowery; Reverend Joseph E. Lowery; Justice Thurgood Marshall; Rosa Parks; Reverend Hosea Williams; and Ambassador Andrew Young were placed at the site in 2004.

The roll of honorees is growing year by year and others will be added to the International Civil Rights Walk of Fame. “We will continue to build upon this commemorative memorial to the civil rights struggle that depicts the tireless efforts and passionate concern of these determined individuals whose footsteps appear in this Walk of Fame,” said Ms. Clayton.

Categories: National

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

Taste of Soul Sponsors

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »

Enter For a Chance to Win!

HYUNDAI "Better" Contest at Taste of Soul Los Angeles