Tuesday, November 21, 2017
By Alfonzo Tucker
Published August 24, 2012

Hello World, I write to you all this week within the mind state of grief. Unfortunately, we all have a date that will conclude our natural existence here on earth. However, how we cope with these conditions is a testament to our covenant and our personal beliefs. For many of us, our grief is expressed in a healthy and unhealthy fashion. The point I will attempt to address within this article is; “OUR EXISTENCE IS A GIFT AND WITH OUT SELFISH REGARD, TREAT LIFE AS A JOURNEY OF ALTRUISTIC HEALING FOR OTHERS TO LEARN FROM!”

Recently, I shared a moment with a friend who lost his son. While at the hospital, I watched my friend clean blood from the nose of his child. At the time of his passing, he was in his early twenties. The young man’s cause of death, fortunately, was from natural reasons. His life was lived in the fashion of progression, he was a student and ambitious!

I speak of him anonymously because; we all know and have persons in our life whom are special and precious in a fashion beyond common speech (These words can pertain to you)! Yet many of us conduct ourselves in ways that are degrading to self and those we love! Whether it be enabling or negative contributing to ones demise. We must allow life to be lived! And when our date comes to an end, take positive note of how that person’s life was lived!

Selfishly, I would prefer no one experience the grief associated with death of a loved one, yet realistically, it is inevitable. I encourage those of you who are coping with these conditions to seek positive regard. As many of you know, I find writing in the form of narrative therapy as healing! Take a blank page and fill it with thoughts in no particular style or structure! Then allow yourself to expel more energy through exercise! That, in my opinion is a healthy form of expressing grief.

Also, please do not suppress grief. By doing so, you will allow negative energy to accumulate in areas of your body that may cause harm. If you are not aware, there are basically five stages of grief (according to psychcentral.com), (1) Denial (2) Anger (3) Bargaining (4) Depression (5) Acceptance.

These stages will be expressed, and it is very important that the person you are consoling is allowed to freely experience those stages. If not, persons will develop issues that can cause problems through out ones entire life.

Well, as I stated earlier, treat life as a journey of altruistic healing for others to learn from. Happiness will find its way into your hearts and mind! Please be open to the change that is unavoidable and joy will be experienced again!

Categories: Opinion

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »