Sunday, November 19, 2017
Collision Basketball All-Star game features this area’s best
By Sentinel News Service
Published April 12, 2013

Lamond Murray Jr. is one of many standout players that will headline this All-Star game.  Photo by Jason Lewis


Siera Thompson helped lead Gardena Serra to a state title, and she will be playing for the Southern Section team.  


Hank Salvatori, who sponsors Collision XV and the Drew League, is an avid basketball fan, and nobody contributes more to the basketball community than him.  Without Salvatori’s donations, this event could not happen.  



For the past 14 years, only one all-star game in California has brought the best players from the Los Angeles City Section and Southern Section in the same gym. Names like Jordan Hamilton, Darren Collison and Russell Westbrook are just some of the alumni who’ve gone on to bigger and better things.


Now in it’s 15th year, Collision continues to raise the bar for high school all-star games in California.  On April 20, Redondo Union High School will host what’s sure to be one of the most memorable games in Collision history.


Southern Section roster will be led by two state champions from Mater Dei, Jordan Strawberry and Elijah Brown (Butler), Santa Monica superstar Jordan Matthews (Cal Berkley), Price standout Chance Murray (Arizona State) and CIF IIA Player of the Year Derek Biale (Redondo), 2-time CIF champion Emmanual Ndumaya (Gardena Serra) and one of the best shooters in the state in All-CIF guard Trey Mason (Loyola).


Filling out the Southern Section roster will be Bishop Montgomery duo Ognjen Miljkovic and Pepperdine commit/All-CIF selection Lamond Murray Jr. They’ll be joined by All-CIF selections Brandon Randolph (Inglewood), Jose Estrada (Cantwell Sacred Heart), Brown commit Leland King (Brentwood) and Jordan Wilson (Windward) along with the tallest player in Collision history – 7-5 Mamadou Ndiaye of Brethren Christian, who was named CIF 5AA Player of the Year.


Not to be outdone, the LA City Section boasts a stellar lineup led by City-co Player of the Year Matthew Grant and Tyler Batiste of City champion Westchester along and Hawaii commit Michael Thomas (El Camino Real) and Northern Arizona signee/two-time City champion Kris Yanku (Woodland Hills Taft)


Also on the team are Crenshaw duo Andre Edwards and Mica Winn, Mason Pollock (El Camino Real), Chauncey Hill, Jonathan Brown and Reggie Theus (Fairfax) and Narbonne standout Dominique Street Jr.


The City Section will be coached by Ed Waters (Crenshaw) and Dominique Street Sr. (Narbonne). Street will be retiring as head coach following the game so Collision will mark the end of a fine career.


The Southern Section will be coached by Doug Mitchell (Bishop Montgomery), who will receive the Jim Harrick Lifetime Achievement Award. Mitchell earned his 500th victory this season, another fine accomplishment in a 24-year career that has seen him earn two state championships, 13 league titles and sent numerous players to Division I colleges.


Also, the Scholar-Athlete of the Year will named after Albert “Cap” Lavin, the father of St. John’s head coach Steve Lavin. The elder Lavin, who passed away in February, represented the best on the court – being named the San Francisco high school player of the 1940’s – as well as the classroom where he served as a longtime high school English teacher and authored 19 books.


Collision is proud to be sponsored this year by Peak Sports USA. The boys game will be at 7 p.m., following the girls game at 5 p.m. and the traditional AAU showcase featuring the best 5th, 6th, 7th and 8th grade talent starting at 12 p.m. Tickets will be $10



For the past two years, the LA City Section has surprised many by winning Collision back to back years after only winning once in the previous 12 attempts. At Collision XV on April 20 at Redondo Union, their chances for a third straight win will be tough against a loaded Southern Section roster.


Headlining the Southern Section will be two Division I-bound members from Division IV state champion Gardena Serra. Siera Thompson (Michigan) and Deandre Toler (Oregon) ended their All-CIF seniors seasons giving Serra their first girls state title in hoops on the heels of winning two CIF sectional titles in their career.


Joining them will be Division IA co-player of the year/Virginia Tech commit Serafina Maulupe (Vista Murrieta), Division IIA co-player of the year Inara Nyingifa (Redondo), All-CIF selection Keyla Morgan (Division 1 State runner-up Long Beach Poly) and Canyon Springs duo Ashleigh Sparks (All-CIF) and Dremel Spencer, who led their school to the CIF Division 1A championship and the Division 1 So Cal State Regional final.


The City Section won’t go down quietly however as they are led by four All-City selections: Joy Boss (L.A. Jordan), Cora Chan (El Camino), Danielle Ward (Granada Hills) and John’ea Thompson from City runner-up Fairfax. Defending two-time City champion Narbonne will be represented by Etheria Ruffin and Kiana Angel and Marine League rival Carson sends Rachelle Owens, who helped lead the Colts to the City semifinals.


Also, Collision is proud to announce the creation of the Women’s Lifetime Achievement Award and will name it after outgoing L.A. City Section Commissioner Barbara Fiege. Fiege is retiring after 20 years as commissioner and 39 total years of service in the LA Unified School District as an educator and coach.


The first honoree of the Women’s Award will be Fairfax girl’s basketball head coach/athletic director Judi Edwards. Edwards led her Lions to the 2007 City Invitational championship and the 2013 City Division I finals and has built up one of the City’s most respected and consistent programs.


The City Section girls will be coached by Narbonne head coach Victoria Sanders and the Southern Section will be led by Canyon Springs head coach Gail Hale. Below is the full roster for both teams as of today. 


The girl’s game will be at 5 p.m., followed by the boy’s game at 7 p.m. The annual AAU showcase of the top 5th-8th graders in the country will start at 12 p.m. For more information, contact Kenneth Miller at (310) 924-7851. Also – media will note that per event policy, CIF passes will not be allowed at Collision. Entry will only be allowed once you confirm with me so I can place you or your representative on our media list.


Categories: High School

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »