Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Subscribe   FOLLOW US: 
CLOSE
 
Cell Phone Laws get Tougher by July
By City News Service
Published June 12, 2008

CNS – Holding cell phones while driving will be severely restricted in California beginning July 1, the California Highway Patrol reminded motorists.

“The goal is, by July 1, everyone will have gotten the word,” said CHP Sgt. Mark Garrett of the Southern Division’s Public Affairs office.

Starting that day, it will be illegal for drivers to use a hand-held cell phone while operating a vehicle, and drivers under 18 won’t be allowed to use cell phones or any other electronic devices while driving. However, drivers of all ages can still use a hand-held cell phone or other mobile device in case of emergency, authorities said. Similar laws are on the books in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut.

Categories: Local

Get the Taste of Soul App!


SEARCH:    
Videos



Events

Legends


Photo of the Day
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

LA Sentinel
in your pocket:




TOS-Cookbook-Web
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Privacy PolicyTerms of Service

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

You've reached your limit of 4 free articles per month.

Don't be limited anymore!

Subscribe to the digital version of The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 per month, with the first 2 months free!

Or get both the digital and the print version (mailed to your home or office) all for just $70 a year!

Subscribe Now »

or existing subscribers Login »