Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Assemblyman Mike Davis Named Legislative Man of the Year by the Women’s Political Caucus of California
By Sentinel News Service
Published May 19, 2011

Celebrating Our Leaders…Then and Now Gala Awards hosted by the National Women’s Political Caucus of California named Honorable Mike Davis as the Legislative Man of the Year. The California African American Museum was the site of this event created to celebrate and show appreciation for the legacy and contributions of African American leaders past and present.

Special Guest Speaker, Honorable Diane Watson eloquently detailed the history of African American elected officials and civil rights movement organizers. Honorable Curren Price, Jr., California State Senator and Chairman, California Legislative Black Caucus, paid tribute to the outstanding accomplishments of women in leadership positions throughout the state.

“The role of legislators from inner-city districts in our state has to be to implement more diversity in the State of California programs,” said Assemblyman Mike Davis. “It will not be an easy task to fulfill this mission in that there are many individuals who strongly believe that minorities do not have a right to what they believe is special treatment. I have been fortunate to have established two laws which include women and minorities in more business opportunities in both the water companies and cellular telephone companies of our state. I am pleased this year to author AB 17, which will create more business opportunities for women and minorities in investing in our CalPIRS and CalSTIRS retirement systems. It is an honor to be recognized by NWPC for my work on including women and minorities in California Government.”

The event honored other accomplished role models that included: Honorable Holly Mitchell, California State Assemblywoman, Legislative Woman of the Year; Linda Dent, Vice President, SEIU Local 721, Labor Woman of the Year; Sarah Harris, Founder & CEO of SuiteEvents, Inc., Publisher of the Year; Kamala Harris, California Attorney General, Woman of the Year; Myrlie Evers, Co-Founder, National Women’s Political Caucus, Lifetime Civil Rights Achievement; Alice Huffman, President of California NAACP, Lifetime Achievement Award; Daphna Ziman, Founder and Chairperson of Children uniting Nations, Philanthropist of the Year. In addition, community organizations and their leaders were saluted for their dedication and commitment to social justice and political action.

Categories: National

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »