Sunday, November 19, 2017
26th Annual Johnabel Scholarship Fund
By Sentinel News Service
Published July 7, 2011

Fabian Wesson (right) and members of the 10th Council District Women’s Steering Committee with scholarship recipients.

On Saturday, June 18, the Johnabel Gentry Scholarship Committee hosted their annual luncheon held every year in honor of Johnabel Gentry. Ms. Gentry was a former and valued member of the 10th Council District Women’s Steering Committee (WSC) and left a memorial to be named for her in the form of scholarships for high school seniors. Since that time, the members of WSC have ensured that the tradition continues. The WSC was founded in 1973 by Geneva Cox, under the direction of then Councilman Dave Cunningham and his then chief of staff, Congresswoman Maxine Waters.

The scholarships ($500 each) are given to graduating high school students who reside or attend school in the 10th Council District and have at least a 2.0 cumulative grade point average (exclusive of physical education and military service). In the past, four scholarships were awarded but last year was our 25th anniversary and we were delighted to be able to award eleven scholarships. Fabian Wesson, committee chair, says “There is such a tremendous need for our scholarships, we are excited to announce that Councilman Herb Wesson is donating five scholarships in honor of his mother, Gladys Wesson. This will afford us the opportunity us to award fifteen scholarships this year!”

Our guest speaker was Dr. Jamillah Moore, Ed.D, president, Los Angeles City College. She was outstanding! Her words of wisdom and encouragement to the students were inspiring and well-received by all in attendance.

The 2011-2012 recipients are: Jennifer Michelle Argueta (UC Santa Barbara); Kimberly Vanessa Bermudez (CA State University- Northridge); Lauren Nicole Green (University of California – Riverside); Kristina Elizabeth Guiterrez (CA State University – Bakersfield); Searit Kahsay Huluf (UCLA); Brittany Jefferson (UC – Irvine); Johnathan Titus Jones (Dickinson College); Jerika Dyan Alvarez Mantuano (Los Angeles City College); Stephanie Michelle Martinez (Mount Saint Mary’s College); Joshua Andrew McKie (Santa Clara University); Hae Lee Myung (UC Berkley); Princeton Irvin Parker (USC); Jimmy Emiliano Perez (UC Santa Cruz); Carla Julissa Vasquez-Noriega (Yale University); and Chandler Jean Wallace (UC Merced).

Entertainment was provided by the Foshay Learning Center Choir (Director-Mentor Tom Sturges), (Choir Coordinator, Regina Boutte’) and (Music Coordinator, Vince Womack).

This year’s event was located at the office of Councilman Herb Wesson, 1819 S. Western Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90006.

Please contact Fabian Wesson (310-743-5050) for further information.

Categories: Education

Get the Los Angeles Sentinel App!


LA Sentinel
in your pocket:

© 2017 Los Angeles Sentinel All Rights Reserved • A Bakewell Media Publication

Contact UsAboutMedia KitCorrections & Misprints

Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy

LA Watts TimesTaste of Soul

Close / I'm already on the list

Subscribe Today!

Don't be limited anymore! Subscribe Now »

** Existing subscribers, please Login / Register for Digital »

Subscribe to The Los Angeles Sentinel for only $5.99 $3.99 per month, with 1 month free!

Relax in comfort each week as you read the printed newspaper on your own time, delivered weekly to your home or office. This subscription also includes UNLIMITED DIGITAL ACCESS for all of your devices. Includes FREE shipping! One easy payment of $3.99/month gets you:

Subscribe Now »